top of page
Writer's pictureAlexandria Merchant

5 Things I Wish I Told my Younger Self Before I Began Meditating

My first mistake when I began to meditate was not really knowing what it is. Britannica defines meditation as the action of “[engaging] in mental exercise for the purpose of reaching a heightened level of spiritual awareness.” The practice of meditation has been a common method used for relaxation and mental gratitude. This is an ancient common practice in Buddhism as they utilize the practice in various forms. Its purpose is to take responsibility for our thoughts, ideas, feelings that reap our mind. By honing in on the states of our mind and training it to be aware and calm. We reap benefits such as improved focus, concentration, awareness, and tranquility.

As someone who has struggled with anxiety, I’ve always been told to try meditation. I would always make an excuse as to why I won’t. Whether it was, “I don’t know how to,” or “I don’t have time.” After research I gained interest but research can only explain so much about something so subjective. Here are some things I wish I knew before meditating:


1. There isn’t a “real way” to meditate.


I used to type into my search bar a thousand times, “How to meditate.” And when certain methods didn’t work the one time I tried it, I would revert to the excuse “it doesn’t work for me.” When in reality, It’s a matter of finding a way that is right for you.There are so many ways to meditate and it is up to you to practice some of them to see which actually benefits you. You don’t have to be sitting with your legs folded singing a hymn. I notice that I feel best in the comfort of my room or surrounded by nature. A typical meditation demonstration will be done sitting up. Most professionals typically recommend sitting up in order to keep your spine straight. Through trying different methods, I realized that I feel better laying on my back with my spine straight and a pillow underneath my knees. The experience is about how you feel so it’s important to cater the experience to you.


2. Setting expectations & intentions aren't necessary.


When trying to find out how to meditate one step many would recommend is setting an intention. To do this, you are writing down what you want to gain out of meditating and how. Of course, setting these intentions may work for some and may guide you to a goal. But it isn't necessary. It is okay to go into a state of meditation and not know what to expect. Meditating may help you in figuring out your goals and discovering what you really desire.


3. Patience & Consistency is key


When I first began meditating I thought that the first time you meditate you would magically feel stress-free after. Some feel instant gratification of calmness after, it takes consistency and patience to reap long-term benefits. I noticed that the more frequent I would meditate the more I would feel more optimistic throughout the week. Consistently listening to my own thoughts lessened participating in behavior that derives from my negative thoughts.


4. You don't need a lot of time!


Prior to meditating I would always use the excuse of “ I don't have time.” You can reap the benefits even if you meditate for at the least 5 minutes daily. Even if you take 5 minutes in the morning and practice your breathing while concentrating on your current thoughts, you might notice an improvement in your daily activities. That's why I love mindfulness because it can be done in several setting such as school and work. It takes trying it to know if it works or not!


5. Over-thinking is normal!


This had to be my biggest epiphany. When I first meditated, I participated in a guided meditation with a group. As we all sat in silence with our eyes closed, it felt as though every single thing you can possibly think of was just on my mind. I was wondering about the most ridiculous minuscule things. It was like I kept trying to silence my own brain. Soon after I was told by almost everyone else that was participating that they couldn't stop thinking also. Meditation isn't about shutting off your thoughts, it is about working through them.

When I asked people and professionals what may help my anxiety this was always a recommendation. So when I first began, I looked at it like a task. It felt like I had to do it just because people told me I should. But I noticed later, that view is flawed. Doing things just because someone told you to doesn’t give the same results as it does when you do something because you wanted to. So in order for me to actually desire to meditate, I personalized the experience as much as possible. As someone who is still a “beginner” in meditation I find that when I actually set aside time to indulge in the practice there is a change in my behavior. I love to light a wooden wick candle, wear comfy clothes, stretch I prior to meditating in order to reduce discomfort.

Hopefully this insight will allow you to feel more comfortable when beginning your journey in meditation. It is about what best works for you.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What Self-Care Means To Me

Self-care is very important to mental health and can be a great way of feeling productive and maintaining a healthy lifestyle. The...

Comments


bottom of page