top of page
Writer's pictureEmma Quigley

What Self-Care Means To Me

Self-care is very important to mental health and can be a great way of feeling productive and maintaining a healthy lifestyle. The National Institute of Mental Health defines self-care as “taking the time to do things that help you live well and improve both your physical health and mental health. When it comes to your mental health, self-care can help you manage stress, lower your risk of illness, and increase your energy. Even small acts of self-care in your daily life can have a big impact.” This can include daily rituals that make a person feel good, good hygiene, getting active, etc. I love dedicating time to self-care and making sure that I feel good. Many people have various ways of practicing self-care but after doing research and taking tips from others, I have curated the perfect self-care routine that works for me and maybe it will work for you too!


The first thing I do in the morning that I consider self-care is brushing my teeth, washing my face, and making my bed. I do this every morning in order to feel productive and feel like I'm getting a good start to my day. It gives me a good mindset. I normally wash my face with a cleanser and then apply eye cream, moisturizer, and SPF. Sometimes I will do a 5-minute clay mask or a serum if my skin is looking a little dull. I also think self-care for me is going on walks. I try to do this every day if I have time.


At the end of my day, I make a nutritious dinner and begin to unwind. For me, this includes washing my face again, lighting a candle, and taking a shower. I make sure my room is clean and get into bed. I find that when I have a clean room, I have a clear head.


For me, these practices work and make me feel good about myself. Again, it varies for everyone and that is okay. Always take care of yourself and do what makes you feel great.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page