top of page
Writer's pictureHannah Wallace

Eliminating Exercise Myths for your Self Care

There are plenty of misconceptions out there about exercise that prevent people from maximizing their self care. Exercise improves mood, sleep quality, and boost energy but, the myths can shift your focus away from the benefits it provides for self care. I used to believe that I had to spend hours in the gym, have no off days, stick with the same workout routine, and make time outside my schedule to exercise. These misconceptions left me unmotivated and unwilling to exercise thus, minimizing my own self care. To avoid the spread of misinformation, here are some tips I used to stay motivated and fulfil my self care:

  1. Make it Fun - Incorporate workouts into your daily routine. Exercise doesn't have to be a separate activity from your schedule or spent only in the gym. Playing sports, dancing, or just taking a walk around your neighborhood are great ways to stay active.

  2. Mix it Up - Have a variety of activities to work different muscles. This also ensures you won't get bored of working out. Mixing it up allows you to experiment and find exercises you'll grow to love!

  3. Don't Overdue it - Know your limits! Exercising is not meant to be painful. If your body needs the rest, give it!

These three tips helped me grow and improve my self care. I have also felt more excited to complete my workouts now that I know that my old beliefs were false. Eliminating exercise myths will help you maintain and promote good health.






8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What Self-Care Means To Me

Self-care is very important to mental health and can be a great way of feeling productive and maintaining a healthy lifestyle. The...

Comments


bottom of page